Hierarchy of Needs

What is the Hierarchy of Needs?


‘Hierarchy of Needs’ is a theory put forward by American psychologist Abraham Maslow, which states that human desires can be categorized by the force and necessity of those desires.


Based on this principle, he also shared a pyramid structure, with the most important needs at the bottom and aspirations and goals at the top. The categorization from bottom to top is as follows:


  • Physiological: It includes basic needs like breathing, eating, sleeping, etc.


  • Safety: It includes needs such as health, physical safety, shelter, etc.


  • Love: It includes friendships, family, love, etc.


  • Esteem: It includes confidence, achievements, respect, etc.


  • Self-actualization: It includes one’s dreams and goals, accepting reality, morality, etc.


The pyramid has to be satisfied from the bottom to the top. Hence, the bottom levels are called ‘deficiency needs’, since the non-fulfillment of those needs will result in innate anxiousness.

More HR Terms

Sensitivity Training

What is Sensitivity Training?   ‘Sensitivity Training’ refers to a specific kind of training imparted to make the trainees more sensitive towards others including their

Equity Theory

What is Equal Equity Theory?   ‘Equity Theory’ states that employees try to maintain a balance between what they give to the company versus what

Pay Per Click (PPC)

What is Pay Per Click (PPC)?   ‘Pay Per Click’ refers to an online advertising model that lets the advertisers pay only when someone clicks

Contact Us

Contact Us

We use cookies on our website to provide you with the best experience.
Take a look at our ‘privacy policy’